Photographing Dave Matthews Band


Dave Matthews Band

Dave Matthews Band, also known by the acronym DMB, is an American rock band that was formed in Charlottesville, Virginia in 1991. The founding members were singer-songwriter and guitarist Dave Matthews, bassist Stefan Lessard, drummer and backing vocalist Carter Beauford, and saxophonist LeRoi Moore. Boyd Tinsley joined the band as a violinist soon after. In August 2008, LeRoi Moore died due to complications from injuries sustained in an ATV accident. Soon after, Grammy Award winner Jeff Coffin (of Béla Fleck and the Flecktones) joined and has since filled Moore's spot as the band's saxophonist; trumpeter Rashawn Ross, guitarist Tim Reynolds, and keyboardist Buddy Strong have also become full-time members of the band. In May 2018, Tinsley was fired from the band after a lawsuit alleging sexual misconduct was filed against him by a former band mate in his side project, Crystal Garden, which allegations Tinsley denies.  Other past members include keyboardists Peter Griesar and Butch Taylor.

The group's 2009 album Big Whiskey & the GrooGrux King, their first after Moore's death, debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, earning them their fifth consecutive number-one debut; their most recent album, 2018's Come Tomorrow, debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, making Dave Matthews Band the first group to have seven consecutive studio albums debut at the peak. As of 2018, the Dave Matthews Band has sold more than 80 million tickets since its inception and a collective 68 million CDs and DVDs combined.


Photographs taken by Chris Sturk